2001 Web Sites of the Week

Here is an archive of Computer Talk's 2001 Web Sites of the Week. For current sites, click here.


Archive of previous "Web Sites of The Week"

Sites related to the events of September 11, 2001


December 29, 2001

Interstate Highways: http://geography.miningco.com/cs/interstates/

Historic US Highways in California: http://www.gbcnet.com/ushighways/index.html

AARoads.com: http://www.aaroads.com/


December 22, 2001

Holidays on the Net: http://www.holidays.net/


December 15, 2001

LIFELines Services Network - Send Greetings to Military Personnel: http://www.lifelines2000.org/

American Legion: http://www.legion.org/

Cuban Dissident Site: http://www.cubaicei.org/

Kick Osama!: http://www.kickosama.com/

Osama is "On The Run Again:" http://www.madblast.com/ontherun.cfm

American Council of Trustees and Alumni (ACTA): http://www.goacta.org/


December 8, 2001

Pre-Recorded Show Today


December 1, 2001

LIFELines Services Network - Send Greetings to Military Personnel: http://www.lifelines2000.org/

 

Beatle Brunch: http://www.beatlebrunch.com/

Good Time Oldies: http://www.goodtimeoldies.com/

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: http://www.rockhall.com/

Free Dmitry Sklyvarov: http://jim2.freesklyarov.org/

I-69 Extension Study: http://www.i69indyevn.org/

Stop Junk Mail, Telemarketers, etc.: http://www.junkbusters.com/

Beloit College MINDSET List: http://www.beloit.edu/~pubaff/mindset/


November 24, 2001

 

Epson C60 InkJet Printer: http://www.epson.com/

 

911 Marketplace (Opened May 2001): http://www.911marketplace.com/

 

 

Public Agenda: http://publicagenda.org/

StoryDATA.com: http://storydata.com/

World Press Review Online: http://worldpress.org/index.htm

 

 

Spam Mimic: http://www.spammimic.com/

 

RAM Test Software:

http://www.simmtester.com/PAGE/products/doc/docinfo.asp

http://www.hcidesign.com/memtest/

http://www.mtsoftware.cz/


November 17, 2001

 

Political Humor: http://politicalhumor.about.com/

 

Check out the Hoax page regularly: http://www.snopes.com

 

Symantec Security Check (Free!): http://www.symantec.com/securitycheck/Online Conversion -

Convert Anything to Anything: http://www.onlineconversion.com/

 

The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (FIRE): http://www.thefire.org/


November 10, 2001

 

Our gala 5th anniversary show!

(Show number 261)

Tune in to win wonderful prizes!

 

 

 


November 3, 2001

 

The new Apple store in Cincinnati opens today: http://www.apple.com/retail/kenwood/

 

Pre-Recorded Show Today: "The History of the Microprocessor"

 


October 27, 2001

 

"Diplomacy:" http://www.boortz.com/diplomacy.swf

 

History of Terror Since 1968: http://www.worldmag.com/world/issue/10-27-01/cover_9.asp


October 20, 2001

 

Halloween Online: http://www.halloween-online.com/

 

Windows XP (Available 10/25/01): http://www.microsoft.com/

Check out http://www.news.com/ for more reports/reviews of Windows XP.

 

Pirated Sites: http://www.pirated-sites.com/


October 13, 2001

 

Capitol Hill Blue: http://www.capitolhillblue.com/

InstaPundit: http://instapundit.blogspot.com/

Urban Legends Reference Page: http://www.snopes.com/

 

Army Airborne Ranger Page: http://www.suasponte.com/

 

LibrarySpot: http://www.libraryspot.com/

 

Clandestine Radio: http://www.clandestineradio.com/

 

The Frontier Post from Peshawar Pakistan: http://frontierpost.com.pk/

 

MapQuest World Atlas: Afghanistan: http://www.mapquest.com/cgi-bin/ia_find?link=school/worldatlas_index&atlas=afghanis

MapQuest World Atlas: Pakistan: http://www.mapquest.com/cgi-bin/ia_find?link=school/worldatlas_index&atlas=pakistan

 

Neat little programs from Tiger Technologies: http://www3.tigertech.com/download.html

How to drive like a Moron: http://www.members.aol.com/doggiesnot/


October 6, 2001

 

Patriotic Songs: http://www.everysong.com/radio/patriotic.htm

 

Open Letter to a Terrorist: http://www.homestead.com/1935/defend2.html

Another Version of "Open Letter To A Terrorist"

 

SoYouWanna: http://www.soyouwanna.com/

 

Canoe, Raft and Kayak Trips in Columbus, IN: http://www.bluescanoelivery.com/trips.htm

 

FBI Files of famous people: http://foia.fbi.gov/room.htm

 

FIND A JOB ON LINE

Monster.com: http://www.monster.com/

HotJobs: http://www.hotjobs.com/

Jobs on the web: http://www.jobsontheweb.com/

Headhunter.net: http://www.headhunter.net/

CareerBuilder: http://www.careerbuilder.com/


September 29, 2001

 

American Currency: http://www.frbsf.org/currency/

Captain America: http://www.crosswinds.net/~testiculos/capam/capam.htm

John Bull and Uncle Sam: http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/british/

 

Dork Tower: http://www.gamespy.com/comics/dorktower/

 

 

Bugtoaster: http://www.bugtoaster.com

 

Acronym Finder: http://acronymfinder.com/

 

Travel Directions and Information: http://www.interstate4u.com/

 

I Should Be Working: http://www.ishouldbeworking.com/


September 22, 2001

 

Media Fellowship: http://www.mediafellowship.org/

 

Free Republic: http://www.freerepublic.com/

Opinion Journal: http://www.opinionjournal.com/


FROM OPINIONJOURNAL.COM:

Foreign News
With the help of our Tunku Varadarajan, we've compiled a list of interesting international news sources:

  • Pakistan: Dawn, the nation's leading English-language paper, is relatively moderate and internationalist. The Frontier Post is a provincial paper published in Peshawar, on the Afghan border. The English is eccentric, but it's a useful source of local news.
  • India: The Times of India is the leading paper and most reliable source of news. The Hindustan Times, a local New Delhi paper, is good for regional color.
  • Israel: The two English-language dailies are the Jerusalem Post and Ha'aretz.
  • Australia: The Sydney Morning Herald is the time-zone leader. Since Sydney is 13 hours later than New York, you can read tomorrow's news today.
  • Britain: The Telegraph is a clever, conservative, pro-American daily. The Guardian is a clever, liberal, anti-American daily.
  • China: People's Daily is the English-language version of the official government organ.
  • Russia: The Moscow Times provides an Enlgish-language view from Russia, where memories of Afghanistan are still fresh.



 

Sixties City: http://WWW.SIXTIESCITY.VELNET.COM/

Bad Fads: http://www.badfads.com/

1966 Batmobile: http://www.1966batmobile.com/


September 15, 2001

 

SITES RELATED TO THE EVIL EVENTS OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2001: (Click HERE for the latest updates.)

SEND ME ANY USEFUL SITES YOU HAVE FOUND. SEND THEM TO ctalk@wcsiradio.com

 

News Sites:

Fox News: http://www.foxnews.com

CNN: http://www.cnn.com

MSNBC: http://www.msnbc.com

ABC News: http://www.abcnews.com

 

Information Sites:

NY.com: http://wtc.ny.com/

The Official NYC Web Site: http://www.nyc.gov

Sites From CBS TV New York: http://cbsnewyork.com/terror/StoryFolder/story_1627234243_html

WTC Remembrance Book: http://www.esus.com/wtc/

Yahoo! Emergency and Relief Information: http://us.news2.yimg.com/f/42/31/7m/dailynews.yahoo.com/fc/US/Emergency_Information/

 

Report Terrorist Activity at the IFCC: http://www.ifccfbi.gov

 


September 8, 2001

The history of Labor Day: http://www.dol.gov/dol/opa/public/aboutdol/laborday.htm

Yahoo's Labor Day directory: http://dir.yahoo.com/society_and_culture/holidays_and_observances/labor_day/

 

Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 is released: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/default.htm

 

Lottorobics: http://www.cadenhead.org/projects/misc/lottorobics.shtml

 

The Cross Foundation: http://www.crossusa.org

 

How to drive like a Moron: http://www.members.aol.com/doggiesnot/


September 1, 2001

 

PRE-RECORDED SHOW TODAY

 


August 25, 2001

POWERBALL! http://www.powerball.com


August 18, 2001

 

The Straight Dope: http://www.straightdope.com/

 

Open Source Schools: http://members.iteachnet.org/opensourceschools/

 

The Doomsday Clock: http://www.thebulletin.org/clock.html

CCOPS: Concerned Citizens Opposed to Police States: http://www.ccops.org/clock.html

 

Soap Opera Links: http://members.aol.com/soaplinks/

 

Columbus City Utilities: http://www.columbusutilities.org/

 

TheFreeSite: http://www.thefreesite.com/

 

FreeShipping (Costs $$ to Join): http://www.freeshipping.com/

 

Homefair: http://www.homefair.com/index.html

 

 

 


August 11, 2001

 

20th Anniversary of the IBM PC: http://www.ibm.com/

 

The Twinkies Project: http://www.twinkiesproject.com/

 

The Voluntary Human Extinction Movement: http://www.vhemt.org/

 

S&H Greenpoints: http://www.greenpoints.com/

 


August 4, 2001


Brickyard 400: http://www.brickyard400.com/

 

Tony Stewart: http://www.tonystewart.com/

 

Ratherbiased ("America's most politicized journalist."): http://ratherbiased.com/

 

iFeminists: http://www.ifeminists.com/homepage/


July 28, 2001

 

National Boy Scout Jamboree: http://www.bsajamboree.org/

 

Mailshell - Unlimited Free Email Addresses: http://www.mailshell.com/

 

Refdesk.com: http://www.refdesk.com/

 

FCC Broadcast Station Search: http://www.airwaves.com/fccdb.html


July 21, 2001

 

Former Child Stars: http://members.tripod.com/~former_child_star/

 

Klamath Basin Crisis: http://www.klamathbasincrisis.org/

 

Retrocom CB Museum: http://www.retrocom.com/

Junk Food News: http://junkfoodnews.com/junkfoodnews/


July 14, 2001

 

Adobe PhotoDeluxe for Mac ($49): http://www.adobe.com/products/photodeluxe/version20.html

Adobe PhotoDeluxe for PC ($49): http://www.adobe.com/products/photodeluxe/main.html

 

 

Calendar Home Page: http://calendarhome.com/

Drive-ins.com: http://www.drive-ins.com/

Learn to speak "Pittsburghese:" http://www.pittsburghese.com/


July 7, 2001

 

The Official "Weird Al" Yankovic Site: http://www.weirdal.com/


June 30, 2001

Joe's Crab Shack!: http://www.joescrabshack.com

Beeresponsible.com: http://www.beeresponsible.com/

 

Upcoming Movies: http://www.upcomingmovies.com/

 

8 Track Heaven: http://www.8trackheaven.com/

 

Bill Gates FAQ: http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/4211/bill-faq.htm

 

Find ZIP Codes: http://www.getzips.com/

Also find ZIP Codes at the USPS Site: http://www.usps.gov/

 


June 23, 2001

 

Free Online File Storage Space: http://www.freewebspace.net/guide/diskstorage.shtml

 

Turn Vinyl LPs Into CDs: http://www.techtv.com/callforhelp/howto/story/0,23008,3333231,00.html

 

Find Chandra Levy Page: http://findchandra.org

 

New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com

SmarterTimes: http://www.smartertimes.com/

Dumber Times: http://www.flakmag.com/dumber/index.html

 

 

Texas Death Row Home Page: http://www.tdcj.state.tx.us/stat/deathrow.htm

Final Meal Requests from Texas: http://tdcj.state.tx.us/stat/finalmeals.htm

 

 


June 16, 2001

OldiesCentral: http://www.oldiescentral.com/

 

APBNews: Crime, Justice, Safety: http://www.apbnews.com/index.html

APBNews: Look up crime statistics for ZIP Codes, Colleges, etc: http://www.apbnews.com/resourcecenter/datacenter/index.html

 

Extreme Technology: http://www.extremetech.com

 

Polka Music!

Polkas On The Web: http://www.polkaweb.com/

247PolkaHeaven: http://247polkaheaven.com/

Search for polka music on http://www.live365.com

 

Polish American Journal Polka Page: http://www.polamjournal.com/polka/index.html

Polka Musician Database: http://www.polamjournal.com/polka/pmd.html

Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones: http://www.versatones.com

Polka Music Hall of Fame: http://www.internationalpolka.com/

Cleveland-Style Polka Hall of Fame: http://www.clevelandstyle.com/

 


June 9, 2001

Duct Tape Fashions: http://www.octanecreative.com/ducttape/fashion.html

The Condiment Packet Museum: http://www.clearfour.com/condiment/condiment.html

Overlawyered.com: http://overlawyered.com/


June 2, 2001

Scouts Alumni Association: http://www.scoutsalumni.com/

 

California's Energy Supply: http://energycrisis.lbl.gov/

 

SheThinks.org: http://www.shethinks.org/

 

Tom's Web Directory: http://www.halfhill.com/tompage.html

 


May 26, 2001

Indianapolis 500: http://www.indy500.com/

Indianapolis Star: http://www.starnews.com/

 

Map of Gasoline Blends in US: http://www.mobil1.com/mobil_gas/us_fuels_map.pdf

 

Dilbert Fun Stuff: http://www.dilberito.com/fun/fun.htm

 

RIAA Stifles Academic Freedom: http://www.cryptome.org/sdmi-attack.htm

 


May 19, 2001

The Complaint Station: http://www.thecomplaintstation.com/

OurHouse.com: http://www.ourhouse.com/

Roadside America: http://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Diner City: http://www.dinercity.com/


May 12, 2001

Lemon-Aid Car Guides: http://www.lemonaidcars.com/home.htm

 

Cartoon: The PC Weenies: http://www.pcweenies.com/

Cartoon: The Joy of Tech: http://www.geekculture.com/joyoftech/index.html

 

Internet Radio: http://www.live365.com/

 

Check This Out: http://www.menwholooklikekennyrogers.com/

Who Provides Better Tech Support? http://www.bmug.org/news/articles/MSvsPF.html

Microsoft Clippy ("That Stupid Paper Clip"): http://www.microsoft.com/office/clippy/



May 5, 2001

DirecPC: http://www.direcpc.com

Orbit Communications: http://www.orbitsat.com

 

Speed Test: http://www.toast.net/performance/

Another Speed Test: http://webservices.cnet.com/bandwidth/

 

Kentucky Derby: http://www.kentuckyderby.com/


April 28, 2001

 

Pre-Recorded Show


April 21, 2001

 

Adobe Acrobat 5.0: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/main.html

Free Acrobat Reader 5.0: http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep.html

 


April 14, 2001

Dallas Morning News JFK Pages: http://www.dallasnews.com/jfk/index.shtml

Digital Audio Restoration Technology (DART): http://www.dartpro.com/

 


April 7, 2001

 

The Cathedral and the Bazaar

Original On-Line version: http://tuxedo.org/~esr/writings/cathedral-bazaar/

Publisher's Page: http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/cathbazpaper/

 

CNET Bandwidth Meter: http://webservices.cnet.com/bandwidth/

 

 

Macintosh Firmware Upgrade Problem

MacInTouch (Part I): http://www.macintouch.com/firmwareramprob.html

MacInTouch (Part II): http://www.macintouch.com/firmwareramprob2.html

DIMMCheck Program: http://www.mactcp.org.nz/EIMSCheck.sit

 


March 31, 2001

 

American Liberty Foundation: http://www.americanlibertyfoundation.org/

 

Internet Jumpstation: http://www.ews.uiuc.edu/jumps.html

 

Official Site of the Hunley: http://www.hunley.org/

 

April Fools on the Net: http://www.2meta.com/april-fools/

 


March 24, 2001

Popular Categories: http://www.popularcategories.com/Default.htm

Librarian's Index to the Internet: http://www.lii.org/

 

Humor: 1040 for laid-off "dot com" employees: http://www.ecompany.com/docs/Fin04.pdf

 

TellMe (1-800-555-TELL): http://www.tellme.com/

The Pig Book: See how congress wastes your hard-earned money: http://www.cagw.org/publications/pigbook/pigbook-%20summary/pig-summary-intro.html

 

Blue Man Group: http://www.blueman.com/

 


March 17, 2001


St. Patrick's Day: http://www.st-patricks-day.com/

 

Amiga St. Louis "Amiga 2001" Conference: http://www.amiga-stl.com/

Amiga, The Computer That Wouldn't Die: http://www.spectrum.ieee.org/WEBONLY/publicfeature/mar01/amig.html

 

Wacky Warning Labels: http://www.mlaw.org/

eHealthInsurance: http://www.ehealthinsurance.com/

Coalition for the Future of Music: http://www.futureofmusic.org/

CakeBook.com: http://www.cakebook.com/


March 10, 2001

Survivor Links: http://www.survivor.com/

 

Miss USA: http://www.missusa.com/

Book Excerpt: "World War 3.0: Microsoft and Its Enemies," by Ken Auletta: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/chronicle/archive/2001/03/05/MNWW3MON.DTL

 


March 3, 2001

Online storage with idrive: http://www.idrive.com

 

Town Hall: Conservative News and Information: http://www.townhall.com/

The Drudge Report: http://drudgereport.com/

 

Free Genealogy Software: http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/

 

Mentioned Last Week:

Fry's Electronics: http://www.frys.com

Frys Ads: http://www.frysad.com

 


February 24, 2001

Dale Earnhardt:

Dale Earnhardt Site: http://www.daleearnhardt.com/

ESPN: http://www.espn.com

Fox Sports: http://www.foxsports.com

 

RealClear Politics: http://www.realclearpolitics.com/

Opinionjournal.com (from the Wall Street Journal): http://www.opinionjournal.com/

 

Discover Columbus: http://discovercolumbus.com/

 

Free Email Address Directory: http://www.emailaddresses.com/


February 17, 2001

 

GENEALOGY SITES:

Genealogy.com: http://www.genealogy.com/

Family Tree Maker: http://www.familytreemaker.com/

Genealogylibrary.com: http://www.genealogylibrary.com/

 

 

eHow.com ("How to do just about Everything"): http://www.ehow.com/


February 10, 2001

DoubleTalk by Connectix: http://www.connectix.com/products/dt.html

 

Complications from "laser" eye surgery: http://www.surgicaleyes.org/

 

FuneralNet: http://www.funeralnet.com/


February 3, 2001

HandymanWire: http://www.handymanwire.com/

 

My Roots: http://sites.netscape.net/tapperware/MyRoots/index.html

Tapperware: http://sites.netscape.net/tapperware

 

Amazon.com's Problems: http://www.mikedaisey.com/

 


January 27, 2001

Citizens of America: http://www.citizensofamerica.org/

Neal Boortz Home Page: http://www.boortz.com/

 

The Crabby Traveler: http://abcnews.go.com/sections/travel/Crabby/crabbyarchive.html

 

ADCRITIC - Superbowl XXXV: http://superbowl.adcritic.com/


January 20, 2001

 

Inauguration Sites:

Bush-Cheney Transition: http://www.bushcheneytransition.org/

Official Inaugural Site: http://www.2000inauguration.com/

CSPAN: http://www.cspan.org

The White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov

 

Urban Legends Reference Page: http://www.snopes.com/

 


January 13, 2001

Girl Scout Cookies!

Tulip Trace Council: http://www.tuliptrace.org/

Girl Scouts of the USA: http://www.girlscouts.org/

 

Authentic Civil War Hard Tack Crackers: http://www.hardtackcracker.com/

Authentic British Royal Navy Imperial Rum: http://www.greatspirits.com/

 

The Monticello Association: http://www.monticello-assoc.org/

 

Evote.com: http://www.evote.com/


January 6, 2001

 

The Darwin Awards: http://www.darwinawards.com/

 

WCSI Radio
A White River Broadcasting Station
3212 Washington Street
Columbus, Indiana  47203

812-372-4448
Toll Free 1-877-269-1015
email: wcsi@wcsiradio.com

Home | Morning Show | Dr. Dean Edell | Greg Garrison | Rush Limbaugh | Dr. Laura
Local News | National News | Financial News | Local Sports | College Sports | Pro Sports
Program Schedule | Guestbook | Advertising | Community | Contact Us