2002 Web Sites of the Week

Here is an archive of Computer Talk's 2002 Web Sites of the Week. For current sites, click here.


Archive of previous "Web Sites of The Week"

Sites related to the events of September 11, 2001


December 28, 2002

Dictionary Search: http://www.onelook.com

The Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/

 

Information on Charities:

Give.org: http://www.give.org/

Charity Watch: http://www.charitywatch.org/

Charity Navigator: http://www.charitynavigator.org/

GuideStar: http://www.guidestar.org/

 

 

THESE ARE THE SITES WE WARNED YOU ABOUT:

GasBGone: http://www.gasbgone.com/

The Doughboy could use GasBGone (Hint: The hand is your mouse pointer, use it to touch the doughboy): http://www.derekgrout.com/doughboy/doughboy2/poopboy.swf


December 21, 2002

 

NORAD Tracks Santa: http://www.noradsanta.org/

 

Holidays on the net: http://www.holidays.net/

 

The Smoking Gun (from Court TV): http://www.thesmokinggun.com/

The Sandwich Project: http://iliveonyourvisits.com/sp/

 

What Time is it? http://www.yugop.com/ver3/stuff/03/fla.html

Another Clock: http://rsd.gsfc.nasa.gov/goes/test/clock.html

 

FBI Spying: http://users.chartertn.net/tonytemplin/FBI_eyes/index.html

 

Demotivators: http://www.despair.com/


December 14, 2002

Tongue Tied: http://www.tonguetied.us/

A Guide to local eateries: http://www.roadfood.com/


December 7, 2002

Pearl Harbor, 61 years ago today: http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/pearlharbor/

Big Brother in your grocery cart: http://www.nocards.com/


November 30, 2002

Modem Troubleshooter: http://modemsite.com/56k/tshoot.asp

Broadband Information: http://www.speedguide.net/

 

Compare files or groups of files: http://www.scootersoftware.com/

 

Hobbies: http://www.ehobbies.com/

 

Fight Bacteria! - http://www.fightbac.org/

 

Bath and Body Works: http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/

 

Atterbury-Bakalar Air Museum: http://www.atterburybakalarairmuseum.org/

Veteran's Walk of Honor: http://www.atterburybakalarairmuseum.org/WALK_OF_HONOR1.HTM


November 23, 2002

Pre-Recorded Show today.


November 16, 2002

PC Pitstop: http://www.pcpitstop.com


November 9, 2002 -- Our 6th Anniversary. Our first show was November 9, 1996.

Symantec Corp: http://www.symantec.com


November 2, 2002

Fireworks: http://www.maylin.net/Fireworks.html

 

File Extension List: http://www.file-ext.com/

 

Electricity Around the World: http://kropla.com/electric2.htm

 

Tom's Hardware Guide: http://www.tomshardware.com/

 

What Side of the Road do they drive on: http://www.travel-library.com/general/driving/drive_which_side.html

Send free postcards to Military Personnel Overseas: http://www.amazingmail.com/php/cardsfromhome.php3?grid=3f0772e10c15af3d

 

Computing.net Tech Support: http://www.computing.net/


October 26, 2002

Symantec Security Check: http://www.symantec.com/securitycheck


October 19, 2002

 

The World Series:

http://www.mlb.com

http://www.worldseries.com

 

 

Funniest Joke in the World? http://laughlab.co.uk/

 

Merchants that ship to APO/FPO addresses: http://www.oconus.com/default.asp

 

The Spamdemic Map: http://www.cluelessmailers.org/spamdemic/


October 12, 2002

 

For former AOL users - Portal Sites:

Yahoo: http://www.yahoo.com/

Excite: http://www.excite.com/

Go: http://www.go.com/

More Web Portals: http://dmoz.org/Computers/Internet/On_the_Web/Web_Portals/

Get the Google Search Toolbar for Internet Explorer: http://toolbar.google.com/


October 5, 2002

Beloit College Class of 2006 Mindset List: http://www.beloit.edu/~pubaff/releases/mindset_2006.html

 

Fur Peace Ranch: http://www.furpeaceranch.com/

Convert your old 8mm movies to DVD / VHS: http://www.videographics.net/

(I have used them and was very satisfied. Your mileage may vary.)

 

One of those people from the Apple "switch" commercials: http://www.ellenfeiss.net/


September 28, 2002

The Pop vs. Soda Page: http://www.ugcs.caltech.edu/~almccon/pop_soda/

allbookstores.com: http://www.allbookstores.com/


September 21, 2002

Pre-Recorded Show


September 14, 2002

September 11 Digital Archive: http://911digitalarchive.org/

Ground Zero Cam: http://www.earthcam.com/usa/newyork/groundzero/

Yahoo! Living Tribute: http://dir.remember.yahoo.com/tribute

 

Chilling Effects Clearinghouse: http://www.chillingeffects.org/


September 7, 2002

History Channel World Trade Center site: http://www.historychannel.com/wtc/

September 11 Archive: http://september11.archive.org/


August 31, 2002

The History of Labor Day: http://www.dol.gov/opa/aboutdol/laborday.htm

Yahoo's Labor Day Directory: http://dir.yahoo.com/society_and_culture/holidays_and_observances/labor_day/

Labor Day: http://www.holidays.net/dailys/holidays/laborday.htm

 

International Spy Museum: http://www.spymuseum.org/index.asp

 

Animusic: http://animusic.com/

 

Ecomp Executive Compensation Database: http://www.ecomponline.com/index.tcl

 

Tire Rack: http://www.tirerack.com


August 24, 2002

Knots! http://www.realknots.com/

Netknots! http://www.netknots.com/index.html

 

How Far is it? http://www.indo.com/distance/

 

Darwin Awards: http://www.darwinawards.com/

 

Bartholomew County Humane Society: http://www.petfinder.org/shelters/happy-dog.html

 

Removing and Reinstalling Dial-Up Networking:

Thanks to listener Lenard C. for this information.

Uninstalling DUN
Regclean to clean up Windows Registry
Removing AOL


New version of DUN for Windows;

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;q285189&

(If the above link doesn't work, search Microsoft's Knowledge Base for article number Q285189.)


August 17, 2002

Setting up a home network: http://www.practicallynetworked.com/

 

The Fabulous Ruins of Detroit: http://detroityes.com/index.html

Ballparks.com: http://www.ballparks.com/

 

Middle East Media Research Institute: http://www.memri.org/

 

Museum of Hoaxes: http://museumofhoaxes.com/


August 10, 2002

 

Separatist, Para-military, Military, Intelligence, and Political Organizations: http://www.cromwell-intl.com/security/netusers.html

 

Center for Democracy and Technology: http://www.cdt.org/

 

Free Game: America's Army: http://www.americasarmy.com/

 

Flashbulbs!!!! http://www.flashbulbs.com/

 


August 3, 2002

SelectSmart: http://selectsmart.com/

Scanner Frequencies: http://www.cityfreq.com/


July 27, 2002

Sodaconstructor: http://www.sodaplay.com/constructor/index.htm

 

Microsoft FrontPage 2002: http://www.microsoft.com/frontpage/

 

Janis Ian: http://www.janisian.com/

Read her article about Internet music downloads:

http://www.janisian.com/article-internet_debacle.html

Search Engines:

Google: http://www.google.com/

Dogpile: http://www.dogpile.com/


July 20, 2002

Where's George?: http://www.wheresgeorge.com/

That Adorable Dell Guy's Site: http://www.dell.com/us/en/dhs/topics/segtopic_steven_home.htm


July 13, 2002
 

Adobe Web Sites:

Main Site: http://www.adobe.com/

Photoshop: http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/main.html

PhotoDeluxe (Discontinued July 2002): http://www.adobe.com/products/photodeluxe/main.html

Photoshop Elements (PhotoDeluxe replacement?): http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshopel/main.html

 

A great song: http://www.carlahowell.org/taxsong.html


July 6, 2002

Vietnam Veterans Memorial

National Park Service Page: http://www.nps.gov/vive/

The Virtual Wall: http://www.thevirtualwall.org/

Another "Virtual Wall:" http://www.virtualwall.org/

The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall Page: http://thewall-usa.com/

 

Peachpit Press: http://www.peachpit.com

 

MacSelect - An Apple Store in Indianapolis: http://www.macselectshop.com/solutions/


June 29, 2002

Happy Independence Day:

The Declaration of Independence: http://www.nara.gov/exhall/charters/declaration/decmain.html

The United States Constitution: http://www.nara.gov/exhall/charters/constitution/conmain.html

Independence Day on the Net: http://www.holidays.net/independence/

The History Channel: http://www.historychannel.com/

 

Open Secrets: http://www.opensecrets.org/

 

Home Networking Basics: http://www.howstuffworks.com/home-network.htm 

Basic Computer Networking: http://compnetworking.about.com/cs/basicnetworking/ 

Home Networking FAQ: http://www.homenethelp.com/web/faq/ 


June 22, 2002

How Far is it? -- http://www.indo.com/distance/

Find Tutorials: http://findtutorials.com/

eHobbies: http://ehobbies.com/

RxList: http://rxlist.com/

 

Spam Information Sites:

Spam Links: http://www.geocities.com/spamresources/spamlinks.htm

Coalition Against Unsolicited Commercial Email: http://www.cauce.org/

Spam Laws: http://www.spamlaws.com/state/


June 15, 2002

Jungle Jim's International Market: http://www.junglejims.com/Informationpage.htm

Micro Center: http://www.microcenter.com/at_the_stores/index.html


June 8, 2002

Peer-to-Peer File sharing with KaZaa: http://www.kazaa.com/

An ad-free version of KaZaa: http://www.kazaalite.com/

 

Microsoft Support Solutions:

Outlook Express Window Size is Not Saved: http://support.microsoft.com/search/preview.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q259539

Internet Explorer Window Size is Not Saved: http://support.microsoft.com/search/preview.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q167099


June 1, 2002

 

Driver Guide: http://www.driverguide.com/

Scanner Drivers: http://www.scanner-drivers.com/

Update Your PC: http://catchup.cnet.com/

 

Another On-Line Storage Service: http://www.kturn.com/

 

Use your PC to play "Air Guitar:" http://www.musicplayground.com/

 

Potato Chips and Snacking: http://www.taquitos.net/


May 25, 2002

Indianapolis 500: http://www.indy500.com/

Indianapolis Star: http://www.starnews.com/

 

Memorial Day: http://www.usmemorialday.org/

American Legion: http://www.legion.org/


May 18, 2002

WinDrivers: http://www.windrivers.com/

 

Online Shopping:

Computers4Sure: http://www.computers4sure.com

InkJetSavings: http://www.inkjetsavings.com

 

FoneFinder: http://www.primeris.com/fonefind/

RazorMouth - "Cutting-Edge Christianity" - http://www.razormouth.com/

 

The Insanity of "Zero Tolerance" Policies:

Zero Tolerance Nightmares: http://www.ztnightmares.com/

Overlawyered.com: http://www.overlawyered.com/


May 11, 2002

 

Cable Modem Sites:

http://www.cable-modem.net/

http://www.cablemodemhelp.com/

http://www.cable-modems.org/

 

Insight Broadband Cable Service: http://www.insightbb.com/

Insight's Modem Vendor: http://www.com21.com/ (Insight is/was using the model DP1110 (DOXport 1110))

 

Linksys Routers: http://www.linksys.com/

 

Speed Test: http://www.toast.net/performance/

Another Speed Test: http://webservices.cnet.com/bandwidth/

 

Symantec: http://www.symantec.com


May 4, 2002

500 Festival: http://www.500festival.com/mini_marathon/index.cfm

Atlantic Monthly: A good article about Saddam Hussein: http://www.theatlantic.com/issues/2002/05/bowden.htm

Rather-Be-Shopping: http://www.rather-be-shopping.com/

Radio Daily News: http://www.radiodailynews.com/

Old Computers: http://www.old-computers.com/

Vintage Computer Ads: http://www.vintagecomputerads.com/


April 27, 2002

Free Virus Scan: http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/

March of Dimes: http://www.modimes.org/

America Attacked 911: http://www.politicsandprotest.org/ (Note: The song playing in the background is "Only Time," by Enya.)

Tribute in Light: http://americasroof.com/tribute-in-light/

National Anthems around the World: http://www.thenationalanthems.com/

 

Ad-Aware: http://www.lsfileserv.com/

Save Internet Radio: http://www.saveinternetradio.com/


April 20, 2002

 

The Tax Foundation: http://www.taxfoundation.org/

 

The End of Free Email Services: http://theendoffree.com/

 

"Back in the 'Stan," Our soldiers in Afghanistan: http://www.ashkins.com/backinthestan/index.html

 

Links to a bunch of columnists: http://newsmax.com/commentmax/commentmax.shtml

 

MidEastTruth: http://www.mideasttruth.com/index.html (Check out the editorial cartoons section.)

 


April 13, 2002

Google Search Engine: http://www.google.com/

Google News Search: http://news.google.com/

 

Cummins' 2002 EPA Emissions Information: http://www.tougheststandards.cummins.com/

Hoosier Sci-Fi Stuff: http://whoosiernetwork.org/


April 6, 2002

Pre-recorded Show


March 30, 2002

Pre-recorded Show


March 23, 2002                         

Buy more RAM for your PC: http://www.crucial.com/

 

United States Marine Corps

USMC Page: http://www.usmc.mil/

Marine Corps Recruiting Depot, San Diego: http://www.mcrdsd.usmc.mil/

Marine Corps Recruiting Depot, San Diego: http://www.mccsmcrd.com/default1.htm

Max's USMC San Diego Graduation Page: http://www.usmcgradsandiego.org/

 

Thefew.com: http://www.thefew.com/

Top 25 Marine Web Sites: http://www.thefew.com/topsites/topsites.html


March 16, 2002

Cumberland General Store: http://www.cumberlandgeneral.com/

Book Review: "Free as in Freedom, Richard Stallman's Crusade for Free Software" http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/freedom/

Richard Stallman's Web Site: http://www.stallman.org/

Interview with the author: http://www.onlamp.com/pub/a/onlamp/2002/02/28/williams.html

 

 


March 9, 2002

FreeMarket.net: http://www.free-market.net/

General Chemistry Online: http://antoine.fsu.umd.edu/chem/senese/101/index.shtml

HyperPhysics: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/hframe.html

 

WebMD is not just on AOL: http://www.webmd.com/

 

Epinions: http://www.epinions.com/

Gomez - Guide to buying online: http://www.gomez.com/indexCom.asp

BBB Online: http://www.bbbonline.org/

 

Various Online Shopping Sites (From the TIDBITS newsletter):

http://www.pricewatch.com/ 

http://isbn.nu/ 

http://www.dealtime.com/ 

http://www.mysimon.com/ 

http://www.bizrate.com/ 

http://www.nextag.com/ 

 

http://www.dealnews.com/ 

http://www.dailyedeals.com/ 

http://www.3rdcurrency.com/ 

http://www.edealfinder.com/ 

http://www.dealofday.com/ 

http://www.4links.net/4Shopping/USAcodes-com.html

 


March 2, 2002

The Sierra Times: http://www.sierratimes.com/

People for the Ethical Treatment of Salespeople (P.E.T.S.): http://www.hugasalesperson.com/

Jungle Jim's International Market: http://www.junglejims.com/Informationpage.htm

Polar Orbit Software for the Mac: http://www.polar-orbit.com/


February 23, 2002

PayPal Warning: http://www.paypalwarning.com/

Daylight Saving Time: http://webexhibits.org/daylightsaving/b.html


February 16, 2002

Congressman Mike Pence: http://www.mikepence.house.gov/

 

Real Haunted Houses: http://www.realhaunts.com/states/indiana.htm

Politically Correct Fairy Tales: http://www.brassknuckles.net/humor/john/fairytales.php

We The People: http://www.givemeliberty.org/

CERT: http://www.cert.org/

Parts Express: http://www.partsexpress.com/


February 9, 2002

Check out the new WCSI web site: http://wcsiradio.com/

 

WINTER OLYMPICS:

NBC: http://www.nbcolympics.com/

Olympics Site: http://www.olympic.org/

CNNSI Coverage: http://www.cnnsi.com/olympics/2002/

CBS Sportsline Coverage: http://cbs.sportsline.com/u/olympics/2002/

ESPN: http://www.espn.com/

Fox Sports: http://www.foxsports.com/

 

Ban Those Evil Screwdrivers! http://www.banscrewdrivers.com/index.htm


February 2, 2002

Groundhog Day Official Site: http://www.groundhog.org/

Punxsutawney Phil.com: http://www.punxsutawneyphil.com/

Groundhog Day: http://www.gojp.com/groundhog/

Superbowl: http://www.superbowl.com/

The Internet Archive: http://www.archive.org/index.html

Midwest Computer Solutions, Columbus, Indiana: http://www.mwcomputersolutions.com/


January 26, 2002

Girl Scout Cookies!

Tulip Trace Council: http://www.tuliptrace.org/

Girl Scouts of the USA: http://www.girlscouts.org/

Cat Bathing as a Martial Art: http://www.xmission.com/~emailbox/bathing.htm

Unplug 'n' Pray - Disable UPnP on Windows: http://grc.com/UnPnP/UnPnP.htm

Internet Weather Report: http://www.internetweather.com/


January 19, 2002

How Stuff Works: http://www.howstuffworks.com/

Home Phoneline Networking: http://www.homepna.org AND http://www.homepna.com/

The Hoosier Gardener: http://www.net19.com/hoosiergardener/

Kids Gardening: http://www.kidsgardening.com/


January 12, 2002

Computer Stupidities: http://www.rinkworks.com/stupid/

Windows Help: http://www.annoyances.org/

Modem Help: http://www.modemhelp.net/


January 5, 2002

United Poultry Concerns: http://www.upc-online.org/

 

WCSI Radio
A White River Broadcasting Station
3212 Washington Street
Columbus, Indiana  47203

812-372-4448
Toll Free 1-877-269-1015
email: wcsi@wcsiradio.com

Home | Morning Show | Dr. Dean Edell | Greg Garrison | Rush Limbaugh | Dr. Laura
Local News | National News | Financial News | Local Sports | College Sports | Pro Sports
Program Schedule | Guestbook | Advertising | Community | Contact Us